JSTOR

An online archive of journal articles, books and images in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences.

 

Overview of JSTOR 

JSTOR provides faculty and students with a complete research resource in a wide array of of subjects, with the breadth and depth to add context to research in nearly any discipline.

 

JSTOR Homepage

This link provides some information about JSTOR not readily available within the database. 

 

Browse by Subject

JSTOR materials listed alphabetically by subject area from 'African American Studies' to 'Zoology.' 

 

JSTOR on YouTube

JSTOR YouTube webpage with visual content and further information. 

 

 

        

 

 

 

Introduction to JSTOR

JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that holds scholarly content from 2800 journals and 85,000 eBooks. 

                                    

What's in JSTOR?

Journals

JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,800 journals from 1,200 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2020 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics. 

 

Ebooks

JSTOR contains more than 85,000 ebooks from academic publishers. The ebooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.

 

Primary Sources

JSTOR offers millions of primary sources across four collections, supporting research and teaching in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. While Open Community Collections initiative provides free access to a diverse collection of images and primary sources from the special collections of libraries, museums, and archives around the world.

 

JSTOR

• JSTOR is part of the nonprofit ITHAKA, which also oversees Artstor. A merger of JSTOR and Artstor is underway. Although all images from Artstor should be retained, the Artstor site will be retired on 1 August 2024. More information will be posted on the Artstor guide as it becomes available.

 

• On first login off campus, you will be prompted to sign in via your institution - National College of Art and Design. 

 

• ITHAKA