Berg Fashion Library: Search

Berg Fashion Library Quick Links

On first login off-campus you will be prompted to link or create a Berg Fashion Library or personal account.

Browse by

Browse By in the top navigation menu provides options to access the content by Content Type, Organizations and Design Houses, People, Period and Place.

Clicking on any option leads to a list for browsing. The numbers in brackets next to each term show the amount of content aggregated under each term. Clicking on any term will lead to a results page for all the content on the site that has been tagged with the term.

The results page offers further filter options in the left-hand column.

• Content Type
• Organisations and Design Houses
• People
• Period
• Place

How to Search?

There are two options for searching:

1. Basic (or keyword) search
2. Advanced search

Basic search provides one search box. The terms entered are searched across multiple elements (or fields) of the descriptions. This search is the broader one with high search counts, across the entire Berg Fashion Central database.

Advanced search offers additional boxes and allows one to search specific content fields.      

Search by Content Type             

Advanced business case                                   Fashion show image collection

Article                                                                 Image

Bibliographic guide                                             Intermediate business case

Book chapter                                                      Introductory business case

Business case                                                    Lesson plan

Designer bibliography                                        Monograph

Dictionary entry                                                  Museum

Encyclopedia                                                      Museum object

Encyclopedia entry                                             Video

Exhibition                                                            eBook

Fashion show image

Search

To search, type your search term into the search bar at the top of each page. Clicking the magnifying glass button or pressing return will take you to the results page.

If there are any relevant image results related to your search, they will show up as the first results. Click on an image to be brought to the image page. Click on ‘more images’ to see more results.

The search page then lists other results in the order of most relevance. It can be reordered by title or date, ascending, or descending. The standard results page shows 10 results but can be adjusted to 5 or 20 results. The search results will show key information about that content, including title and author, along with a preview snippet of text that includes the search term with the search term appearing in bold.

Search results can be refined using the left-hand column by Collection, Content Type, Themes, Design and Making, Dress, Fashion Business, Organisations and Design Houses, People, Period, Place, Textiles, Materials and Colours. At the bottom of the left-hand column, you can choose to show all content. The default is to only show content that you have full access to if you are logged in.

Navigate to the desired results by clicking on the title at the top of each result.

Advanced Search

To the right of the search bar, click on the Advanced Search button. Note, this will only appear once you have logged in.

Enter your search term in the search bar with the option to refine by Title, Author/Editor/Creator, Summary/Abstract, Category, or Identifier. Enter additional search terms using “Add Field” with search functions of “AND” “OR” and “NOT” and the same options listed above.

Further refine results by Content Types, including eBook, Book chapter, Image, Video, Business case and Museum.

Use the same search results functions on the search page to refine results further and access results.