Wellbeing Collection: Using the Collection

Setting a goal and choosing a book

Books in the Wellbeing Collection relate in different ways to some of life's challenges. The collection can be approached from a place of curiosity ("I'd like to know more about..."), for change ("What steps can I take...") or even for solace ("How do people cope with..."). 

When seeking out a book from the collection, it might help to note down what you hope to gain from your reading, or visualise a goal and the small steps that will help you to achieve it. It might also be useful to set aside some time in your daily or weekly schedule for your reading time. 

In the library, all of the Wellbeing Collection books are kept on a set of bookshelves in the Chill Space, near the photocopiers. They are ordered by call number, indicated by the white label on the spine of the book. This corresponds to the code listed on the library catalogue. Library staff are happy to help you find items if needed.

If you would like to see all of the items in the Wellbeing Collection, search 'EML Wellbeing Collection' on the catalogue. 

There are several different types of book in the collection: some are historical or scientific, some are memoirs, and some are practical guides. There is also a selection of graphic materials.

Reading with intention 

There are lots of different ways to read a book, and different books need different approaches. For example, the way you read a source for an essay differs from how you read a novel for pleasure. The same is also true for books in the Wellbeing Collection, especially if you are seeking practical steps to make a change in your habits or approach to an issue. 

Alongside setting a time for reading, you might find it useful to take notes or make observations as you read: these can be handwritten, typed, audio notes - whatever works best for you! The aim is to create a collection of material to help you review or reflect on your reading, and how themes or practical steps might be useful in achieving your goals. 

Doing the work and making a change

If the book you have selected includes reflective or practical exercises, set aside some time to work on these and reflect on the outcomes. As these are shared library books, please photocopy any forms or questionnaires before filling them out so that another reader can benefit from them! 

Using these, the notes you have gathered while reading, and the aims or goals you set before starting the book, outline 1 - 3 actions or changes you could make. These can be small, incremental steps on a daily or weekly basis: focus on building habits through repetition. 

As time goes on, review your short and long term goals, to keep moving forward with your new habits, outlook, or any other changes you hope to make.