Wellbeing Collection: EML Wellbeing Collection

Let us know what you would like to see added to the Wellbeing Collection! 

Public library membership is completely free of charge for everyone in Ireland! For more information on joining the public library system, follow the link below. 

Picking up a book or magazine makes us take a step away from our phone or computer screens. Fiction, non-fiction, self-help, graphic, gossip, the category doesn't matter: reading can create a quite moment away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Keeping a book or reading journal can also help us process complex thoughts and ideas, or reflect on challenging topics. 

Read More

Our college years and working life can be both an exciting period of discovery and learning, and a time of increased stress and tension. The Edward Murphy Library's Wellbeing Collection focuses on subjects outside of formal learning or the day-to-day work environment, with the aim of supporting personal development, life skills and overall wellbeing. It is available to all NCAD students and staff members. 

As this is a developing section of the Library's collection, we encourage readers to make suggestions for titles or topics that you would like to see represented. To make a recommendation, use the Google Form linked on the left-hand side of this page. 

What's in the Wellbeing Collection?

Acquired titles to date include books on study and life skills; food and cooking; identity and expression; mindfulness and mental health; and neurodiversity. 

Books in this collection are available to borrow and renew, like any other item in the EML. To see all of the titles in this collection, search 'EML Wellbeing Collection' in the Discovery Catalogue. 

Where is the Wellbeing Collection? 

These books are located on their own set of shelves in the Chill Space. Pull up a comfortable chair and browse at your own pace, or select a title to borrow.

The Chill Space in the Edward Murphy Library is located in the area behind the Issue Desk. We encourage all readers to make use of the comfortable seating while reading. Quiet conversation is encouraged in this part of the library, but please be mindful of others!