Reference & Citation: Using Harvard Style

Single Author Book

Reference Structure: Author/Editor. (Year) Title. Place of publication: publisher.

Examples: 

Poyner, R. (1998) Design without Boundaries. London: Booth-Clibborn Editions.

Wells, L. (ed.) (2004) Photography: A Critical Introduction. 3rd ed. London: Routledge. 

Multi-Author Book

Reference Structure: Author 1, Author 2. (Year) Title. Place of publication: publisher.

Examples: 

Kuang, C. and Fabricant, R. (2020) User friendly: how the hidden rules of design are changing the way we live, work, and play. London, England: Penguin.

Ritch, E.L., Canning, C. and McColl, J. (eds.) (2023) Pioneering new perspectives in the fashion industry : disruption, diversity and sustainable innovation. Bingley, UK: Emerald Publishing Limited.

Chapter in an Edited Collection

Reference Structure: Author(s), (Year) 'Chapter Title', in Editor(s) Name (ed.) Title of Collection. Place of publication: publisher, pp. X-Y. 

Example: 

Smith, P. J. (1997) ‘British Art in the 1980s and 1990s’ in Murphy, B. (ed.) Art from Britain. Sydney: Museum of Contemporary Art, pp. 147-159.

Chapter in a Multi-volume Work 

Reference Structure: Author(s), (Year) 'Chapter Title', in Editor(s) Name (ed.) Title of Collection. Place of publication: publisher, pp. X-Y. 

Example: 

Skov, L. (2010) 'The Study of Dress and Fashion in West Europe' in Shov, L. (ed.) Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion: Vol. 8, West Europe. Oxford: Berg, pp. 3–8.

eBooks

When an eBook looks like a printed book, you should reference in the same way with the following structure: 

Author/Editor. (Year) Title. Place of publication: publisher.

If the electronic copy of the book is different (it might not use pagination) you can use the following format: 

Author/Editor. (Year) Title. DOI or Available at: URL (Accessed: date). 

Examples: 

Koskinen, I.K. (2011) Design research through practice : from the lab, field, and showroom. Waltham, MA: Morgan Kaufmann. 

Crouch, C. and Pearce, J. (2012) Doing research in design. English edition. London: Berg. Available at: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=645234 (Accessed: April 10, 2024).

Journal Article (Print Version)

Reference Structure: Author. (Year) 'Article Title', Journal Title, Volume(Issue), page range. 

Example:

Grant, L. and Walker, R. (2000) 'Accidental pilgrims: 19th-century British travellers and photographers in Santiago de Compostela', The British Art Journal, 1(2), pp. 3–12.

Journal Article (Online Version)

Reference Structure: Author. (Year) 'Article Title', Journal Title, Volume(Issue), page range. Available at: URL (Accessed: date).

Salter, G. (2017) 'Francis Bacon and Queer Intimacy in Post-War London', Visual Culture in Britain, 18(1), pp. 84–99. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1080/14714787.2017.1302817 

OR

Knight, K. (2023) 'Irresistible', Selvedge, (117), pp. 74–78. Available at: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asu&AN=175185133&site=ehost-live (Accessed: 9 April 2024).

Newspaper Article 

Reference structure: Author/byline. (Year) 'Title of Article', Newspaper Title, day and month, page reference OR Available at: URL (Accessed: date).  

Examples

Ruiz, C. (2023) 'Record number for National Gallery show in Shanghai', The Art Newspaper, (358) July/August, p. 9.

Lordon, T. (2024) 'Lovers review: Green on Red’s spontaneous group show is inspired by a surreal depiction of love', Irish Times, 20 February. Available at: https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/art/review/2024/02/20/lovers-review-green-on-reds-spontaneous-group-show-is-inspired-by-a-surreal-depiction-of-love/ (Accessed: 11 April 2024).

If you make use of the Library's online resources (databases, eBooks, journals etc) and other open access publications, the referencing format will be dictated by the material format - for example, a book chapter, a journal article etc. For more general web references, for example personal, institutional or governmental websites, the formatting below can be used. Remember to give as much information as possible, with the aim of your reader being able to find this material for themselves. As web pages are often updated or removed, the date of access is even more important. 

Remember to be cautious about information found on the internet, and refer to the methodologies outlined in our 'Evaluating Sources' guide. 

Website (Author Identified) 

Reference Structure: Author. (Year that the site was published/last updated) Title of Web Page. Available at: URL (Accessed: date). 

Example

Burton, P.A. (2012) Castles of Spain. Available at: http://www.castlesofspain.co.uk (Accessed: 10 April 2024)

Website (No Known Author)

Reference Structure: Title of Web Page (date) Available at: URL (Accessed: date). 

Example 

National Built Heritage Service (no date) Available at: https://www.buildingsofireland.ie/ (Accessed: 11 April 2024)

Website (Organisation)

Reference Structure: Organisation Name (date) Title of Website. Available at: URL (Accessed: date)

Example

National Gallery of Ireland (2024) Art and Artists. Available at: https://www.nationalgallery.ie/art-and-artists (Accessed: 11 April 2024)

Blog Posts 

Reference Structure: Author (Year) 'Title of Post', Title of Site, Day and Month of Post. Available at: URL (Accessed: date). 

Example: 

Butterfield, L. (2019) ‘Research spotlight: I want to get high enough up the chain to pull others over the wall with me’, Oxford Science Blog, 1 November. Available at: http://www.ox.ac.uk/news/science-blog (Accessed 5 November 2019).

Social Media 

Instagram 

Reference Structure: Author. (Year of post) 'Title of post' [Instagram]. Date of tweet. Available at:URL (Accessed: Day Month Year).

Example

NCAD Library. (2024) 'Snow scenes from the library’s windows and from Pieter Bruegel the Elder' [Instagram]. 1 March 2024. Available at: https://www.instagram.com/p/C3-AflYM3ok/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igsh=MzRlODBiNWFlZA== (Accessed: 19 April 2024). 

Facebook

Reference Structure: Author. (Year page/post published) Title of page [Facebook] Date of post. Available at: URL. (Accessed Day Month Year).

Example

Culture Ireland. (2024). Ireland at Venice [Facebook] 18 April 2024. Available at: https://www.facebook.com/IrelandatVenice2024 (Accessed: 19 April 2024). 

Twitter/X 

Reference Structure: Author(s) Last name, Initial(s). [username] (Year of post) excerpt form post [Twitter] Day Month of tweet. Available at: URL (Accessed: Day Month Year).

Example

Makris, C. [@c_makris] (2024) My curatorial project 'Is this a poem?' opened  @MoLI_Museum on Saturday. [Twitter/X] 26 February. Available at: https://x.com/c_makris/status/1762097455733104922 (Accessed: 19 April 2024). 

Film

Reference Structure (Film viewed on DVD): Title of film (Year of Distribution) Directed by [Material designation]. Place of distribution: Distributor.

Reference Structure (Film viewed on Streaming Service):Title of film (Year of Distribution) Directed by DOI or Available at: Name of Service (Accessed: Date). 

Examples

Macbeth (1948) Directed by Orson Welles [Film]. USA: Republic Pictures.

The Matrix Reloaded (2003) Directed by A. & L. Wachowski. Available at: Netflix. (Accessed April 2024). 

Television

Reference Structure (Programme): Title of Programme (Year of Transmission) Transmission Channel, Day Month, Time of Transmission.

Reference Structure (Episode): 'Title of Episode' (Year of Transmission) Title of Programme, Series and episode numbers. Transmission Channel, Day Month, Time of Transmission.

Reference Structure (Streaming Platform): 'Title of Episode' (Year of Original Broadcast) Title Series/Season. Series/Season and episode number - if known. Production Company. Available at: Name of Service (Accessed: Date). 

Examples

Friends (1994) Channel 4, 23 September, 21:00. 

'The One Where Nana Dies Twice' (1994) Friends, Series 1, episode 8. Channel 4, 19 April, 21:00. 

'The One Where Nana Dies Twice' (1994) Friends, Series 1, episode 8. Bright/Kauffman/Crane Productions Available at: Netflix (Accessed 19 April 2024). 

YouTube Video 

Reference Structure: Name of person posting video (Year video posted) Video Title of film. Available at: URL (Accessed: date).

Example

Raok2008 (2008) For a cooler Tube. Available at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXE6G9CYcJs (Accessed: 13 June 2008).

Podcasts  

Author/Presenter (Year site was published/last updated) ‘Title of Podcast’, Title of Internet site [Podcast]. Day/month of posted message. Available at: URL (Accessed: date)

Examples 

Ndiritu, G. (2010) ‘Questions from the past’, Tate Events [Podcast]. 2 February Available at: http://www.tate.org.uk/onlineevents/podcast/mp3/ 2010_02_12_Grace_Ndiritu.mp3 (Accessed: 11 April 2010).

Theses

Reference Structure: Author (Year of Publication) Title of Thesis. Degree statement. Degree awarding body.

Examples

Russell, M. (2010) The exact opposite of beauty : the carnivalesque in the work of John Waters. Unpublished BA thesis. National College of Art & Design. 

Clancy, L. (2008) Dead air: live art; schizophrenia and double coding in broadcast radio. Unpublished PhD thesis. National University of Ireland.

Exhibitions 

Reference Structure: Title of Exhibition (Year) [Exhibition]. Location. Dates of exhibition. 

Example

Europa (2016) [Exhibition]. IMMA, Dublin. 26 Nov 2016–26 Feb 2017.

Exhibition Catalogues 

Reference Structure: Author of Catalogue (Date of Exhibition) Exhibition Title. Place: Gallery Name. 

For exhibition catalogues with no author, the organiser should be cited as author. 

Examples

Arts Council (1970) Art in Turmoil. London: Serpentine Gallery.

When needed, your work should include high quality images relevant to your essay/research project. Like any other primary or secondary source, these need to be included in your citations and references. Three elements are needed to properly credit the images that you are making reference to: 

• A caption underneath the image;
• An in-text citation;
• A reference entry in your 'List of Images', included at the end of your bibliography. 

Captions

Captions go directly underneath the image. First you must include the word Figure in italics and with a capital 'F' followed by its relevant number.  Listing the title, and in-text citation of the work.

Example: 

Figure 1: Fishing boats: Carrying a currach, Inis Oírr. (Corduff, 1957)

Always refer to illustrations in the text by their number (in parentheses). 

In-Text Citation 

To cite an image found online in Harvard referencing, you need to give the creator’s surname and the year of creation in the in-text citations. 

For the photograph referenced above, an in-text citation could appear like this: 

"This picture depicts three men carrying a currach on Inis Óirr (Corduff, 1957)"

However if you name the creator in-text you only need to include the year:

"Leo Corduff's (1957) photograph depicts three men carrying a currach on Inis Óirr."

Bibliographic Entry for an Online Image

Reference Structure: Photographer/Creator Last name, Initial(s). (Year) Title of image/photograph. Available at: URL (Accessed Day Month Year).

Examples 

Corduff, L. (1957) Fishing boats: Carrying a currach, Inis Oírr. Available at: https://www.duchas.ie/en/cbeg/514 (Accessed: 19 April 2024). 

Cartier-Bresson, H. (1952) IRELAND. 1952. IRELAND. Munster. County Kerry. Tralee. 1952. Corpus Christi procession. Available at: https://library.artstor.org/asset/AMAGNUMIG_10311537501 (Accessed 14 December 2023)

Bibliographic Entry for a Printed Image

Reference Structure: Photographer/Creator Last name, Initial(s). (Year) Title of image/photograph [Photograph/Image]. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example

Miller, S.J. (1852) Frederick Douglass. [Photograph]. New York: Liveright Publishing Corporation.

How to Cite a Painting

Reference Structure: Artist. (Year), Title of Work, [Medium], Institution or Collection, City. 

Examples

Boty, P. (1963) The Only Blonde in the World [Oil on canvas]. Tate Britain, London. 

Jacir, E. (2001-2003) Munier [Chromogenic print and text panel]. Whitney Museum of American Art. Available at: https://whitney.org/collection/works/20678 (Accessed: 19 April 2024). 

How to Cite a Museum Object

Reference Structure: Surname, Initials of maker/designer. (Responsibility eg. maker or designer) (Year) Name of object. [Type of object] Place of Archive/Museum: Name of Archive/Museum. Catalogue/reference number.

Example

Petrie, J. (maker) (1803) Cast of Death Mask of Robert Emmet (1778-1803), Patriot. [Death Mask] Dublin: National Gallery of Ireland. NGI.8130.