Sources for Public Domain and Creative Commons Images
Copyright Guides Online
- UCD: Lib-guide on Copyright: UCD Libguide Link
-
Copyright: Photocopying and Scanning: UCD Photocopying and Scanning Link
-
Copyright and the Visual Artist: VAI Copyright Link
Best Code of Pracitce
Web Resources
Artstor is an online digital library in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. A lib-guide is available on using the resource here.- https://ncad.libguides.com/artstor. Collections are comprised of contributions worldwide from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. Includes a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for your research purposes. Artstor can be accessed through JSTOR on Open Athens
Other Online Image Resources
- Berg Fashion Library
The Berg Fashion Library provides text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive eBook collection, reference resources, and a vast image bank.
- New York Public Library
High-resolution downloads available for their public domain content. For use without restrictions.
- Open GLAM
OpenGLAM is an initiative run by Open Knowledge that promotes free and open access to digital cultural heritage held by Galleries, Libraries,
Archives and Museums. - Rijksmuseum
Public domain images in Rijksstudio may be downloaded for free from the relevant page. These jpeg images are 4500 x 4500 pixels on average.
- Wellcome Library
Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access images from the Wellcome Library.
- Wikimedia Commons
A collection of over 41 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.