Directory or Open Acess
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for open access books. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited collections published under an open access licence, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
Researchers can use DOAB to access free to read monographs and edited volumes by searching and browsing the directory.
For researchers who want to publish their book in open access, DOAB is a trustworthy source to find a publisher. Books in DOAB are submitted by publishers only. The peer review and licensing procedures of all publishers in DOAB are checked before they can list their books in the directory.
An additional resource relevant for researchers interested in publishing their book open access is the OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit: A free-to-access resource that aims to help academic book authors to better understand open access book publishing. The toolkit offers a coherent set of of more than 30 individual articles addressing various topics related to open access books such as:
- What is open access?
- Common misconceptions about open access
- Copyright and licensing
- Funding
- Quality assurance
- Publishing options
- Discoverability & impact
Access the toolkit: https://oabooks-toolkit.org/
Open Textbook Library
Graphic Design
Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals.
https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/subjects
- What is an open textbook?
- We define an open textbook as one that has an open license that makes it free for anyone to use and change. It can be print or digital.
- What is the Open Textbook Library?
- The Open Textbook Library was started so that faculty could find open textbooks in one place. More technically, the Open Textbook Library is a comprehensive referatory that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers.
Distribute to your students
- When using a textbook, provide the link to the textbook to your students. They can select which file type they would like to download.
- Alternatively, download copies of the book and put them on another site. Some examples of where book files can be added are:
- Your institutional LMS (learning management system). Load the book files into your Moodle and make the books available to your students via the LMS.
- Use an online file-sharing service like Dropbox or Google Drive. Upload copies of the book files to Dropbox or Google Drive and send your students the link.
- If you have a faculty website, put copies of the files on that website and send students to your website to download your copy of the textbook.
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for open access books. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited collections published under an open access licence, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
Researchers can use DOAB to access free to read monographs and edited volumes by searching and browsing the directory.
For researchers who want to publish their book in open access, DOAB is a trustworthy source to find a publisher. Books in DOAB are submitted by publishers only. The peer review and licensing procedures of all publishers in DOAB are checked before they can list their books in the directory.
An additional resource relevant for researchers interested in publishing their book open access is the OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit: A free-to-access resource that aims to help academic book authors to better understand open access book publishing. The toolkit offers a coherent set of of more than 30 individual articles addressing various topics related to open access books such as:
- What is open access?
- Common misconceptions about open access
- Copyright and licensing
- Funding
- Quality assurance
- Publishing options
- Discoverability & impact
Access the toolkit: https://oabooks-toolkit.org/
A tool to search for open educational materials, including textbooks.
Downloadable books from HathiTrust and digital collections from the Digital Public Library of America are just two examples of sites with a wealth of important resources.