Image Resources
Online digital library of over 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Collections are comprised of contributions worldwide from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. Includes a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for your research purposes.
Web Resources
Museums and Collections
-
Archives of American Art Photography Collections
Alphabetical listing of Photographers with links to oral interviews, papers, correspondence, images, recordings and more.
-
Art Institute Photography Collections
The Art Institute's photography collection contains works of many of the medium's celebrated practitioners, including collection the Alfred Stieglitz Collection, the Julien Levy Collection, with more than 200 photographs by Edward Weston, and the work of Paul Strand, Eugéne Atget, and André Kertész.
-
With over 25,000 works, this is one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world and includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs. -
Museum of Fine Arts Photography CollectionThe Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, was one of the earliest museums in the country to collect photography, and the collection include daguerreotype portraits, landscapes of the American West; Pictorialist photographs; European and Central European photography from between the wars, and archival collections of celebrity portraits by Yousuf Karsh and Herb Ritts and mountain photographs by Bradford Washburn
-
EuropeanaAn authoritative source to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe from distinguished cultural and scientific institutions.
Center for Creative Photography
The Center for Creative Photography is an archive and research center located on the University of Arizona campus. It retains the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great twentieth-century photographers. The Center is pleased to announce that its collections of photographs by Edward Weston and Ansel Adams are now available on the University of Arizona Institutional Repository.
International Center for Photography (ICP): The eMuseum is a searchable database of ICP's Photography Collection. Because of the large number of works in the collection, not all are currently included in eMuseum. But new items are continually added to the online collection, and records are constantly updated with additional research and texts. In addition to searching eMuseum, you can also create an account and manage your favorite images.